The Founder, Professor Nicolas D. Georganas

Nicolas D. Georganas, OC, OOnt, FIEEE, FRSC, FCAE, FEIC is a Distinguished University Professor , University of Ottawa. He was previously Associate Vice-President, Research (External)(2005-2008) and held a Canada Research Chair in Information Technology ((2001-2005).
He received the Dipl.Ing. degree in Electrical Engineering from the National Technical University of Athens, Greece, in 1966 and the Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering (Summa cum Laude ) from the University of Ottawa in 1970.

Since 1970, he has been a faculty member in first the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and then SITE, University of Ottawa, and served as Chairman of the former from 1981 to 1984. In 1986, he was appointed Founding Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and served a seven-year term. He was appointed Associate Vice-President, Research (External) on May 1, 2005. On sabbatical leaves, he spent 1977-78 with the IBM Centre d’Etudes et Recherche, La Gaude, France, 1984-85 with BULL-Transac and INRIA in Paris, France, 1993-94 with BNR (now NORTEL Networks), 1997 with CRC in Ottawa and the first half of 2004 with the University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain, and the University of Vienna, Austria. During 1985-86, he served as Chairman of the Electrical Engineering Grants Selection Committee of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada.

He has published over 400 technical papers and is co-author of the book “Queueing Networks- Exact Computational Algorithms: A Unified Theory by Decomposition and Aggregation”, MIT Press, 1989.- He has received research grants and contracts totaling more than $61 million and has supervised more than 190 researchers, among which 110 graduate students (36 PhD, 74 Master’s), 21 Post-doctoral Fellows and 15 research engineers .

He was General Chair of the the ACM Multimedia 2001 (Ottawa, Sept. 2001), the IEEE International Conference on Multimedia Computing and Systems (ICMCS’97) (Ottawa, June 1997) and Co-Chair of the Canadian Conference of Electrical and Computer Engineering (Ottawa, September 1990). He has served as Guest Editor of the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, issues on “Multimedia Communications” (April 1990) and on “Synchronization Isssues in Multimedia Communications” (1995) and as Technical Program Chairman of MULTIMEDIA’89, the 2nd IEEE COMSOC International Multimedia Communications Workshop (Montebello, Canada, April 1989) and of the ICCC Multimedia Communications’93 Conference in Banff, Alberta, Canada. He is the Editor-in-Chief of the ACM Trans. on Multimedia Computing, Communications and Applications (TOMCCAP) and was a member of the Editorial Boards of the Journals ACM Computing Surveys, Performance Evaluation, Computer Networks, Computer Communications , Multimedia Tools and Applications , ACM/ Springer Verlag Multimedia Systems Journal and the IEEE Multimedia Magazine. He was one of the founders and project leaders of the Telecommunications Research Institute of Ontario (TRIO) [now called CITO], a Centre of Excellence. He was also a project leader in the Canadian Institute for Telecommunications Research (CITR), and the Tele-Learning NCE, two federal Networks of Centres of Excellence. His current research interests are Collaborative Virtual Environments, Tele-Haptics, Sensor Networks, Multimedia Communication Systems, Intelligent Internet Appliances and Performance Evaluation of Multimedia Applications over Broadband Networks and the Internet.

In 1990, he was elected Fellow of IEEE for “leadership in university-industry research in, and performance evaluation of, multimedia communication networks and systems”. In 1994, he was elected Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada. In 1995, he was co-recipient of the IEEE INFOCOM’95 Prize Paper Award. In 1997, he was inducted as Fellow in the Canadian Academy of Engineering and Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. In 1998, he was selected as the University of Ottawa Researcher of the Year and also received the University 150th Anniversary Medal for Research. In 1999, he was awarded the Thomas W. Eadie Medal of the Royal Society of Canada, funded by Bell Canada, for his contributions to Canadian and International telecommunications. In 2000, he received the A.G.L. McNaughton Gold Medal and Award for 1999-2000, the highest distinction of IEEE Canada; the Julian C. Smith Medal of the Engineering Institute of Canada for 1999-2000, “in recognition of outstanding achievements in the development of Canada”; the OCRI President’s Award for the creation of the National Capital Institute of Telecommunications (NCIT); the Bell Canada Forum Award from the Corporate-Higher Education Forum, the Researcher Achievement Award , from the TeleLearning Network of Centres of Excellence and a Canada Research Chair in Information Technology (2001-2005). In 2001, he was appointed Distinguished University Professor of the University of Ottawa and he was also received the Order of Ontario, the province’s highest and most prestigious honour. In 2002, he received the Killam Prize for Engineering, Canada’s most distinguished award for outstanding career achievements. In 2003, he was honoured with the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal. In 2004, he bacame Founding Editor-in-Chief of the ACM Transactions on Multimedia Computing, Communications and Applications (TOMCCAP), and received a Honorary Doctorate from the Technical University Darmstadt, Germany. In 2005, he was recognized as Pioneer of Computing in Canada, by the IBM Centre of Advanced Studies. In 2006, he was awarded the Canadian Award in Telecommunications Research. In 2007, he received the first IEEE Canada Computer Medal , the ORION Leadership Award, a Honorary Doctorate from the National Technical University of Athens, Greece, and was also invested as Officer of the Order of Canada, the highest honor for a Canadian. In 2008, he became Secretary of the Academy of Science, Royal Society of Canada.

He is a registered professional engineer in Ontario and is listed in Who’s Who in the World, Who’s Who in America, Who’s Who in the East, American Men and Women of Science, Who’s Who in Science and Engineering, Dictionary of International Biography, Canadian Who’s Who, Who’s Who in Canadian Engineering and Hellenic Who’s Who.

Email: georganas at
Phone: +1 613 562 5800 ext 6225
Fax: +1 613 562 5175
Office: Colonel By Hall, Room A-613
Address: 161 Louis Pasteur, Ottawa, ON, Canada, K1N 6N5



About uOttawa

University of Ottawa provides the opportunity to study, live and play in English, French or both... Read More